The Dry Rub – 2012

Saturday the XX’s were all booked up doing stuff, and the XY was at his mom’s so I took advantage of the morning to hit the local farmer’s market.  Along with some veggies, I was looking for spices to make my dry rub for this year.  I make one batch every year, changing it from year to year however I see fit.

The Perfect Rub is Here. You Just Have to Find it.

This is what I had last year:

  • 1 part Smoked Paprika
  • 1 1/2 parts Spanish Paprika
  • 2  parts Kosher Salt
  • 1 part Roasted Garlic Powder
  • 1 part Garlic Powder
  • 1 part Black Pepper
  • 1 part Onion Powder
  • 1 part Dry Chipolte Powder
  • 1 part Dry Oregano
  • 1 part Dry Thyme

This year I decided to cut out the smoked paprika and let the smoke from the wood take more center stage.  I also cut down the ground chipolte because one container was all they had.  Good thing to, the spice in the final rub is at a nice level so I don’t think it needed any more.  I did run into one issue.  When I picked up my bags of oregano, instead of getting oregano leaves I accidentally picked up what’s called “cut sifted oregano”, which is just oregano stems cut into about 1 inch long pieces.  As I stood there, my mind screaming “foul” and “devil-witchery” (honestly, what kind of sadistic bastard wants stems in their herbs?  Did they learn nothing from their pot smoking friends in high school?) I luckily remembered that I had a container of stand alone oregano in my spice cabinet.  Luckily I had enough for my needs.  This was where I landed this year:

Some Assembly Required
  • 2  parts Spanish Paprika
  • 2  parts Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 part Roasted Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 part Garlic Powder
  • 1 part Course Ground Black Pepper
  • 1 part Onion Powder
  • 1/2 part Dry Chipolte Powder
  • 1 part Dry Oregano
  • 1 part Dry Thyme
  • 1 part Cumin

I was thinking of adding sugar to it this year, but instead I’m going to experiment with getting the sweetness on my pork from spraying it down with apple liquor (a tip I got from one of the bartenders at Two Stones) and playing around with honey and agave nectar.

The Finished Rub

Once it was all combined I split it into two batches.  One half I jarred as is, the other I added 1 part ground ginger, 1/2 part lemon pepper and three packets of McCormick’s Mojito Lime marinade (if anyone knows a good dry source of lime flavoring let me know).  This more citrus flavored rub I use on my ribs.

Pretty happy with both of them, although to be honest the island rub is my favorite.  Now I just need for this rain to move out so I can rub this stuff on some meat.

Author: Ed (The Dogs of Beer)

Beer Blog focused on Delaware & surrounding area. Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff. Over user of commas. Dangler of prepositions.

5 thoughts on “The Dry Rub – 2012”

  1. You know, the last line of this post just sounds dirty! You’re a bad bad man. Heh.

    Seriously though, sounds like a tasty bit of spices! I certainly hope that there will be a follow up post showing off the finished products.

    Cheers!
    G-LO

  2. Ack! Stems!

    It looks good. I like that you make a big batch. I am always scrambling to the store to get more of what we happened to run out of in between batches. I look forward to seeing some results.

  3. For some reason, my computer is not letting me ‘Like’ the article. Please count this reply as 1 ‘Like’. 🙂

Leave a Reply

