Brew Review – Flying Fish’s Exit 8

Flying Fish's "Exit 8"

If you read my recent post on Two Stone Pub’s recent Flying Fish tap take over, you know that the spot light beer was the newest in their series of exit beers, Exit 8.  We were lucky enough that night to get the first pours of it in the state of Delaware and as I said it really didn’t bowl me away at the time but I thought it had enought that I promised to revisit it when I could actually focus on it a little better.  So keeping that promise….

Them: Exit 8 is a Belgian-style brown ale brewed with Chestnuts (once local to the area) and honey (currently local to the area).  The grist contains (beside pale malt I’m assuming) roasted malt and oat flakes.  The beer contains Mt Rainier, Chinooks, Fuggles and Columbus hops.  The beer is fermented to 8.3% ABV and is bottle conditioned.

Me:  Exit 8 pours dark with a medium head that fades to a light lace ring around the glass.  The nose speaks of sweetness and honey in a way that gives me a sense that this is indeed a Belgain-style brown ale rather than a English-style.  The taste starts in the front continuing with the sweetness and honey notes.  It continues back with a bit more sweetness mixed with spice and pine.  The ending is not bitter, but spicy and to me left a lingering sensation like I had just finished eating cherries.  Not sure where that was coming from.  For a beer that has four kinds of hops to it Exit 8 isn’t “hoppy”.  I got a little hop character in the nose once or twice, but for this beer the spice and pine notes from the hops are what take center stage.

I was glad I revisited this beer.  It’s much better than I thought it was when I had it at Two Stones.  Exit 8 has an nice mix of sweetness and spice that I think many people would like.  I’m not going to lie, one of these by itself was enough for me but I would not be afraid to have it again in the right situation, maybe paired with some food.

Time for another beer.

Author: Ed (The Dogs of Beer)

Beer Blog focused on Delaware & surrounding area. Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff. Over user of commas. Dangler of prepositions.

7 thoughts on “Brew Review – Flying Fish’s Exit 8”

  1. This sounds like a winner! I really liked Exit 1 (Oyster Stout), but I’ve found the others to be a bit lacking. Interestingly enough, they are our local brewer, but I haven’t had a chance to do the tour yet. Maybe when they move to their new location.

    Great review!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

  2. Good post. I keep seeing exit 8 around and havent yet decided to buy one. After this I think next time I see it, I’ll grab one.

Leave a Reply

