The Power of THREE! Another Year at the Dogs of Beer

So, just about 3 months ago today (yes, I’m THAT far behind)  I got this yearly notification from WordPress.  :

HA2

Yes, another year has passed for tDoB.  This makes three (So I guess three is a powerful number today – “Three shall be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the counting shall be three.”), and although I’ll admit that this year wasn’t as productive post-wise as I would have liked it to have been, it was still pretty good.

I’ll be honest, blogging has been an interesting animal.  Many people I encounter when they find out I write a blog, well they get it.  I’m constantly amazed (and incredibly thankful) at the number of people in the industry (using this term broadly) who show that they get it.  Whether it’s taking time to talk with us a beer festivals, or answer a few questions via email, or especially the times when they reach out to us with an upcoming event or some information about what’s happening at the brewery.  Especially people like Cindy Small from The Delaware Wine and Beer Festival, who is extremely gracious to this blog.

But it’s also the people on the periphery of craft beer that make blogging so rewarding.  Like Blancia Oliviery who sent me a copy of Beer: What to Drink Next; and Lisa Trudeau who sent me The Strange Rebirth of British Beer.  Reviews to come, I promise!  Or craft beer comic The Salty Dog writer Bill Coleman, who wrote me to inform me that the dog in the picture I use as my social media profiles and blog banner was his dog Ludwig.

Or other blogs out there that take notice of my little world, like aggregate craft beer news service Beer Infinity, who asked me to be the Delaware representative for their blog meaning select posts from my blog appear in their news feed.  And I was very proud to be asked to represent Delaware for the ‘Six-Pack Project‘, a series of posts about the beer scene from different states compiled by Bryan over at This is Why I’m Drunk.

It’s also nice to see links to my blog posts spring up here and there around the internet.  My post on Beer in Movies: That Thing You Do got a link share on a site that covers Erie beer history; and my Beer Relics: Great American Beer Festival “On The Road” Program post got shared on several websites including a post in a thread on Beer Advocate.  Travel site Hopper.com, linked to my trip post for their comprehensive, blog sourced article about New Hope, PA.

And then there are individual posts that I’ve done in the last year that I’m pretty proud of.  I finished my long running Apocalyptically Doomed Beer Hunter series.  Despite its serial format and wordy story line, the series was well received. I survived through 23 DFH beers in August (30 days) for my Dog(fish Head) Days of Summer series which set personal blog records for day, week and monthly page hits. I started my series “The Full Moon Post” attempting to tie together the spirituality of the changing seasons with the seasonal aspects of craft beer , which has been nicely received by people outside the craft beer circle. And I got engaged to Kaley Cuoco.  Unfortunately, I had to dump her.  She was SOOOO needy.  And then there’s my ‘Delaware Beer Map’ and ‘Where To Fill Growlers in Delaware’ pages which are getting lots of use, from which I’ve received several comments from people about how helpful they’ve been when planning a trip to Delaware.  Nice stuff.

Probably one of the coolest things I did during the past year was being video interviewed at the Delaware Wine and Beer Festival by the online segment of The News Journal. Not only was the video posted online (sorry no link available because apparently they remove them after awhile.  It was really funny in a “why is this man sticking a microphone in my face?” sort of way), but quotes from it can be found on several online articles about the DWaBF, as well as quotes from fellow Delaware Craft Beer and Wine Lovers member and now co-admin, Dana Dillon.

And of course, the people I’ve met (G-Lo and LimpD last year at the Philly Beer Week Opening Tap), people I’ve just missed (Doug from Baltimore Bistros and Beer, who we couldn’t connect with because nature tossed one hell of a snow storm at Baltimore), and all the people out there I haven’t had a chance to meet with yet (too many to name, but you know who you are). And a special shout out to the aforementioned Delaware Craft Beer and Wine Lovers, a group of like minded people who I greatly enjoy being apart of.  Fun times. Fun times.

And of course thanks to Tracey for making the beer trips that much more fun.  And thanks (I guess) to my editor for his continued “assistance”.  And certainly, and most importantly, everyone who’s liked, followed, friended or otherwise took the time to keep up with my musings.  You all have no idea how amazed I am that ANYONE regularly comes to this blog to see what I write.  The fact that I’ve build up a pretty good audience is both shocking and humbling.  Thank you all.

All in all it’s been a pretty good year.  So what’s up in year four (“Four shalt thou not count, neither count thou two, excepting that thou then proceed to three”)?  More of the same I suppose.  Actually I’ve gotten to the point in this endeavor where I’ve gotten smart enough not to set long term goals.  Things change.  You say you’re going to do something, and then the world shifts and you never get to it.

So we’re going to take it one day at a time, one idea at a time (well, not one I have four or five [Five is right out!] rattling around in my head at the moment), one post at a time, and see if we can make year four as fun as year three.

What’s that?  The people who don’t get it when they find out I’m a blogger? Yeah, I run into them as well. Usually it starts with a deep sigh or an eye roll, and then they get all defensive as if in someway I’ve implied that I know way more about craft beer than they do….but that’s another post.  When Tracey’s not around. You know, that whole “don’t be a dick” thing.  Yeah, I’m going to piss some people off with that one.  Promise.

Time for another beer…

xxxxx
My editor Buddy gets his blog anniversary treat! The beer was for me. (NOTE: Flame added in post processing.  No editors were exposed to open flames during the making of this photo.)
Get this stupid hat of me.  This is NOT in my job description!  TRACEY!!!
Get this stupid hat off me! This is NOT in my job description! TRACEY!!!

Author: Ed (The Dogs of Beer)

Beer Blog focused on Delaware & surrounding area. Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff. Over user of commas. Dangler of prepositions.

3 thoughts on “The Power of THREE! Another Year at the Dogs of Beer”

  1. Congrats on the three year mark….and on finally getting the post done. I have enjoyed every one of our beer excursions simply because I get to do them with you. Well that, and some of the beer is really excellent…
    Love you….Tracey

Leave a Reply

