The Dogs of Beer Are Back in Full Swing – God Help Me

Ok, I’ve been very lax lately about the blog. The truth is everything just kind of went *poof*.   I got behind; technology didn’t like me, then hated me, then went back to just not liking me, then loathed me. It was quite the comedy (and not so comical) of errors for a while.

First, I kind of fell into a little funk.  I suppose it was bound to happen sooner or later.  I just didn’t feel like writing, and more importantly I didn’t feel like buying a bunch of beers just to review them.

Doing reviews is an odd animal.  Oh sure, it’s fun to try all those unique, crazy beers out there.  It’s always fun to find some new offering that  you think you can pound out 800-1200 words of interesting, witty prose.  But as I’m sure some movie reviewers just want to curl up on the couch some days and watch an old B-Movie classic, or music reviewers will probably on occasion break out some dusty LP from their collection – so too do I sometimes want to drink a beer, just because I like the beer.

On these occasions I find myself going back to my old favorites, Victory Headwaters, Weyerbacher Blithering Idiot, Brooklyn Sorachi Ace, Flying Dog Raging Bitch, Stone’s Arrogant Bastard and Twin Lake’s Pale Ale.  Some of these have been my favorites for years, some I actually found through writing the blog.  But regardless, they all represent beers I enjoy drinking, because I really enjoy them, not because I’ll get a post out of them (although I have posted about some of these so maybe that makes me a hypocrite.  However, my Victory Headwaters post Letting It Go, did address this issue slightly, so maybe not).

On top of this desire to just enjoy good beer for awhile, my laptop vexed me as it would only charge if you contorted the power chord into the power jack at a proper angle.  This usually consisted of bending it into some Crazy-Straw like shape up near the plug and then finding enough things to prop against the wire to keep it from moving in the jack.  I’m serious, there were times that I’d spend 5 minutes trying to get the cosmic alignment just right, and then slowly tip toe away as if I was trying not to wake a sleeping baby once I’d achieved it.

Shhhhh....It's Charging
Shhhhh….It’s Charging

Then one day I started getting an error message that the computer was having problems with something that controlled the keyboard.  I figured it was something to do with the keyboard because of some high tech diagnostics on my part – I typed something and nothing appeared on the screen.  Oh, the touch pad was dead as well. Because you know…why not?

Luckily, a USB keyboard and mouse worked fine, but now I really couldn’t use it as a laptop.   Oh, I tried.  but unfortunately I just don’t have enough lap to set everything on, and besides, the couple of times I tried I kept hearing Jeff Foxworthy’s voice, “If the keyboard that works is on top of the keyboard that doesn’t, YOUUUUU might be a redneck.”  So I cleaned off the “pocket contents and laundry” dump that is the desk in the bedroom and made it my “blog office”.

And that was cool for awhile.  Seemed all professional, with all my beer books, notebooks and other blog related things surrounding me as I typed away.  But after a bit I really hated writing there.  I felt like a little boy locked in his room doing his homework.  But then one day, the message went away and I got my keyboard back!  I was on the couch again!  Or out in the gazebo!  Freedom!  Except…

The power jack problem was now really bad requiring more 19th century sailor knot tying contortions to get it to charge and on top of that, the battery life was crap so I had to deal with this problem just about every time I wanted to use the laptop.  So I had Tracey take it to some guys that do her electronics troubleshooting and was told that they could solder a new jack in the computer and all should be good.

What followed was four weeks of waiting as my computer had to be shipped to California (apparently no one in Delaware knows how to solder), came back, had to be shipped some where else, came back, only to have the video card totally fry as they were doing the last check up on it.

What I finally received back after all that work was only the hard drive in a USB external drive box with as many of my files as they could rescue.  Luckily, it seems they were able to get everything I really needed, but then again all I’ve really done on it so far is my taxes.  I’m sure someday I’ll come across something that didn’t get saved – blog related I’m sure.

But after months of beating my head against the technological wall, and having just been to State Line Liquors and found myself intrigued with some of the beers I saw there, I think I’m on my way back. New laptop, new list of future topics, rack full of new beers to review, and new

Buddy

Editor?

Wait? What? No! We talked about this Tracey! The editor shtick had its time and place…

Look, you know what Caesar Millan says, every dog needs a job and after 6 months of loafing around the house, I think it’s time he did something. And the job of choice around here for dogs seems to be photo editor for your blog. Don’t blame me. You were the one that came up with it.

But Buddy is a different kind of dog and to be honest, I just don’t think he’s up for it. Can’t he bark at squirrels or play fetch all day?

You’ve seen the dog play fetch; he barely remembers why he was running over to the other side of the yard by the time he gets there.

tennis balls

Our poor yard … full of unfetched tennis balls!

Yeah, trying mowing around all that debris. So your answer is to take the couch licker, who you admit has the attention span of a gnat, and unleash him on my blog? Don’t you think it takes a little more mental capacity to put together a beer blog than to fetch a tennis ball?

I’ve read your blog. Do you really want me to answer that?

Ha Ha…so you got jokes now?

Look, the other reason  you haven’t written any reviews lately is that they’re no fun anymore.  You need someone to play off.  Someone who’ll keep you on your toes.

Someone who’ll annoy the piss out of me.

Just give him a shot.  You’ll see.  He’ll be fine.

*SIGH*, I’m sorry, I just can’t. I just have this horrible feeling that he doesn’t have what it takes. I’m sorry, but you have more of a chance at seeing a duck walk into a bar a drink a beer than of Buddy working on my blog.

duck

Wait?  Who did that?

buddy_ed

Not bad, fur ball.  I mean, a little obvious, which was my point.  To do this job you have to think a little bit outside of the box.  Like if I say “a fox drinking a beer”, you can’t just go Megan F….

redd fox

Hmmmm, not bad.  Mega-points for the Redd Fox shout out, but Colt 45?  That’s…..really not what we do here.  But in hindsight I think that was a little too easy as well.  Just name association.  I should have given you something tougher, like, I don’t know, a rattlesnake drinking a beer.

STCA

OK, let’s do this.

Here we go…..again….

 

Author: Ed (The Dogs of Beer)

Beer Blog focused on Delaware & surrounding area. Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff. Over user of commas. Dangler of prepositions.

11 thoughts on “The Dogs of Beer Are Back in Full Swing – God Help Me”

  1. I’m glad that your technological woes are no more and that you’ve got a new editor on the leash.

    As for the “funk;” it happens to everyone. Part of my inability to stay on-genre or on-format is an active swatting at writing stagnation. I’m hoping to see your victorious return to beer-adventure-fiction. A boy can dream, right?

  2. Good to have you back. The world of Mid-Atlantic drinkers just hasn’t been the same. . . I’m thinking of picking up Stone’s GoTo IPA for the weekend. We’ll see how “session” stands up. . .

  3. You know it’s just the same with everything in life.
    You’d think experience showes us at least anything, but alas.
    Hate all you want but the world changes rapidly, and none of us have no control whatsoever over it.
    E.g., imagine Obama had any balls to put Russian bear to his place, but it seems like it’s not happening, welcome world war.
    Awesome post, thanks!
    Sarah http://phyto-renew350i.com/

Leave a Reply

