A Much Needed Visit From Saint Nick at The Dogs of Beer

With Respect and Apologies to Clement Clark Moore
With Respect and Apologies to Clement Clark Moore

Twas the Morn’ after Christmas, as I opened my eyes,
feeling like crap and wanting to die .

Empties were strewn around the living room  in a clutter,
my head feeling like it had been whacked with a putter.

Tracey was in bed having a peaceful snore,
having been smart enough to moderate the night before.

I sat up with a groan and surveyed the scene.
Then flopped back on couch my stomach feeling obscene.

When out in the kitchen there arose such a clatter.
I slowly slid from the couch to see what was the matter.

Out of the living room, through the dinning room I cussed,
walked into the kitchen preparing to make a large fuss.

The light from the window cast the kitchen aglow.
Which felt like needles in the eyes if you must know.

When, what to my watering, red eyes should I see,
A man in a red suit, mixing with glee

In a glass on the counter, he stirred to and fore,
And the liquid got rosier as he added each pour.

His eyes – how they focused!  As he added each measure.
As if this mixture where some kind of treasure.

He spoke not a word but kept right to his task,
mixing his concoction from a collection of flasks.

The sight was so odd, I knew not what to think.
What was the meaning of this elf and his red looking drink!

His task all complete, he gave me a wink.
He handed me the glass and told me to drink.

He packed his sack quickly, as I sipped the tonic he’d made,
It tasted like a bloody mary with a hint of lemonade.

His flasks safety stowed he gave the sack a last twist
and faded  from view, leaving a column of mist

As my mind slowly clearing, I heard up on the roof
A prancing and pawing that sounded like hooves

I ran out the kitchen and out into the night.
He called his plans out as he flew into the night.

“To Oliver, to Scott, to G-Lo, and such!
To Chris and to Bryan and that bear who’s a lush.

To the top of the trees, to the end of the walls!!
They’ve been drinking all night, I must visit them all!”

And I heard him exclaim as he rode out of sight.
“Merry Christmas you all.  Aren’t you glad it’s just one night!”

Merry Christmas from all The Dogs of Beer to my fellow bloggers and my readers.  We hope you had an awesome holiday.  See you all in 2014!

Author: Ed (The Dogs of Beer)

Beer Blog focused on Delaware & surrounding area. Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff. Over user of commas. Dangler of prepositions.

2 thoughts on “A Much Needed Visit From Saint Nick at The Dogs of Beer”

Leave a Reply

