Two Years at the Dogs of Beer

So while we were experiencing a little down time here at The DoB, I received the following notification from WordPress:

HA2

WoW!  Two Years (or 14 if you care to follow through with the obvious joke) of blogging.  Might not seem like much to some of you, but as I’ve said in the past, my first and foremost goal when I started this blog was not to fizzle out after 3 months with only a handful of followers and nothing else to say.  So to me, it really is a big deal.

Last year I tossed out a bunch of numbers to show how well I was doing.  I’m not going to do that so much this year, although I will share my RISKTM map because I’ve always thought that was a pretty cool thing.

First Year "RISK" Map
First Year “RISK” Map

And now:

WEST

Apparently I’m big in the Seven Kingdoms.  Who knew?  Although “TheWolfoftheNorth” and “Ned’s Lady” haven’t commented for awhile.  I hope their OK.  Last time we talked they said they were going to a wedding.  Sounded nice.  Hope it was fun.

Anyway, that all being said, I WILL thank all those who have clicked like/follow/”what’s this crap” during the past year (Blog followers 121, up from 35 last year; Facebook followers 183, up from 24).  I appreciate anyone who takes the time out of their busy lives to read anything this “idiot with a keyboard” writes.  I certainly want to thank those who jumped in on the first year and are still reading.  And a special shout out to those who over the years I’ve come to consider as “friends I haven’t shared a beer with yet”.  A lot of you have been very supportive, and very kind over the past two years.  I certainly have appreciated it.

I also HAVE to thank Tracey, who gets dragged to WAY to many beer festivals for someone who would simply be happy if Allagash White was the only beer produced in the whole wide world.

What I do want to do is tell you what will likely be happening at tDoB as we step into our third year.

First, you’ll see the word “Delaware” more.  For those of you who have followed me on twitter or Facebook, you’ve already seen the phrase “The Delaware Beer Blog” sneak into the mix.  Don’t worry, this blog will always be “The Dogs of Beer”, but I will be adding more Delaware specific info to it as time allows.

I’ve already made one change.  Since the RSS Widge doesn’t work for HTTPS (thanks WordPress), I’ve removed my non-working Untappd feed on the left side bar and added an events feed from my Delaware Beer Calendar.  As time permits, I’ll be adding a page for the Delaware Beer Calendar as well as was one for the Delaware Beer Map, which will allow all you people to map out you visit to our lovely craft beer state.

I started doing this already over at my second blog – The Delaware Beer Blog.  Didn’t know I had a second blog?  Not surprising as I really didn’t promote it.  I set it up as “catch-all” location for news and information about the Delaware craft beer scene, only I’d occasionally post single pictures only, with information in the subject.  Kind of like a bulletin board if you will.  But one thing I thing I’ve found out is that, even with a simple concept like that one, it’s hard for me to split my time between multiple blogs.  I always feel like I’m not focusing my time where I should be (that’s here in case it’s not obvious).  So while we’re on that subject….

After almost a year of inactivity I’m officially stepping away from the Delaware Valley Beer Bloggers site.  It’s not that I don’t have time to write for the blog, I just don’t have the energy or time to push promotion for another blog.  The concept was a great one by Patrick Huff, but sadly, no one seems interested.  And since Patrick is now a major player in the cider world, I don’t know how much time he’s going to have for it either.

However, that means that starting soon, the Beer Relics columns will start to show up here in tDoB.  For those who didn’t catch the two I wrote for tDVBB, the Beer Relics is a series I’ve always wanted to write about the “junk” that I’ve collected over my many years of craft beer chicanery.  They can be anything from a growler from a long gone brewery, labels from Delaware’s first microbrewery, a T-Shirt, or beer menus from a long gone NYC bar.

I also want to start including more industry driven content.  Recently, three new breweries have announced their attempted start ups in the Delaware area, and I’m hoping to get a chance to write about all three of them, as well as talk to other brewers/owners/people in the Delaware Craft beer scene.  I’ll also be trying to work hard to get more entries/reviews in the Local Tap series.  We’ve been slack there over the past couple of months.  But we’ll try to get those rolling again.  So does all this mean there will be less room for reviews?

Nope.  Reviews will still be a big part of this blog.  To that end, I’m excited to announce that Bryan over at the awesome  blog, This is Why I’m Drunk, has asked me to represent Delaware for his Six-Pack Project.  If you haven’t caught wind of this yet, I’ve been tasked with building the ultimate Delaware Six-Pack – six beers that represent our Delaware beer, and culture.  The only rules are that it has to be a SHELF product (size doesn’t matter), keg-only beers are not eligible, and seasonal beers should be avoid if at all possible.  This is going to be tough, because some of the best beers in DE are keg-only.  But I said yes.  So I’ll find six – NO FOUR PACKS FROM THIS GUY!  Four packs are plain devil-witchery.  Uh-huh.  Believe it.

Also, before his untimely passing, my editor was trying to talk me into doing a theme month in August.  I was really resisting this, since I’ve never done one before (he seemed to be missing the fact that this is because I never wanted to DO one.  Ever!).  However, in his honor, I will indeed be dedicating the entire month of August to what I hope will be a very well received subject.  I will keep the details to myself for now, but let me assure you that there is no way this can turn out to be as grandiose as I am planning or in any way live up to the hype I will build for it.  Don’t mark it on your calendar.  I’m not lying (I’m lying), you’re NOT going to want to miss this.

However I will say that there is a chance (small chance) that I might be asking some of my fellow bloggers to help me out with this task, and to that end, Oliver Gray from Literature and Libation has already graciously agreed to supply a little fiction style review.  So if nothing else,  you’ll definitely not want to miss THAT.  Might be the highlight.  Just saying.

Well that’s about it for this time.  Guess I should go blow out the birthday candle on my bottle of Dogfish Head Hellhound On My Ale, and start looking forward to year three.

Cheers!  And thanks again!

Happy Bday

Author: Ed (The Dogs of Beer)

Beer Blog focused on Delaware & surrounding area. Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff. Over user of commas. Dangler of prepositions.

12 thoughts on “Two Years at the Dogs of Beer”

  1. Congratulations! I know I’ve been a fan for a while now. I can’t imagine having a second blog. It honestly takes as much or MORE time to promote the posts than it does to write them. I can understand why you’re backing out of the second one.

    I used to love comments from “BlondeDragon,” but I got tired of her constantly saying “That post was hotter than three fire-breathing baby dragons.” Come on, I know you’re busy, lady, but put some creativity into it.

    1. I have to second the second blog notion. Even the idea of writing more than I’m currently writing (ok, maybe I have some non-blog writing going on, too) seems like a mental impossibility. I don’t think my fingers would stand for it, honestly.

    2. Writing for the second blog was going to be practically zip. I think that’s where it looked good. And then once I started, that’s when I came to the realization that promoting was a large chunk of “one more thing” I didn’t really want.

  2. A well deserved congratulations on two years, Ed. I’m really glad you didn’t fizzle out in three months; we’d have never had your Elysian Brewing series, and the internet would be a worse place for it.

    I’m excited for August, but can’t lie: Beer Relics sounds awesome. I may have to play along with that, too.

  3. Ed! BIG Congrats on the blogiversary! Hope we get to have a beer together once again in the not to distant future.

    In the meantime, looking forward to what you’re brewing up for August.

    Cheers!
    G-LO

  4. Congrats! I’m sad I haven’t picked up wind of the blog until recently, but I definitely look forward to learning more about the Delaware beer scene and all the insight you have to offer.

    Can’t wait to see what you’ve got cooked up for the Six-Pack Project.

    Cheers!

    1. Thanks Bryan. I’m really looking forward to contributing. It’s not something I’d have ever taken on for my own sake, so it will really be a push to see where I go with it. I’m finding several beers duking it out for the last spot!

  5. Up until two days ago I was debating a second blog myself. I was really close to logging into wordpress to create a profile when I though to myself “Dude, you already have a blog. Just post everything you want in one location. People will either read it or they won’t. Quit trying to follow a theme so tightly.”

Leave a Reply

