Saturday Explodes at tDoB with Interest about The Shawshank Redemption

Weirdness.  Plain Weirdness.

Saturday was like any other Spring weekend day here at the DoB.  Usual stuff.  Getting the kitchen clean from Friday’s fun.  Staring out the window wondering if today was the day to fire up the lawn mower for the first time.  Wondering how long I should wait before I open the first beer of the day.

And like most weekend days, there came a time when I absent mindlessly opened the WordPress app on my phone to  check my stats.  I do it a handful of times throughout the weekend, more out of reflex than anything else because weekends tend to be slow as far as page hits are concerned.

So I clicked the few buttons that get me to the stats screen and was shocked at what I saw.  The bar graph was empty except for one, singular column of blue.  Well not empty, it turned out that the one bar was so large that it reduced the others to mere thin lines at the bottom of the graph.  I had a momentary jolt of excitement thinking that someone had retweeted one of my posts, or that a brewery that posted one of my posts on their Facebook page.  It happens occasionally, and when it does I usually get a nice spike of hits.  But then I saw the number – 2868 views.  What?

So turns out, some internet bot (my son’s thought), some college film classes, or a small town, needed to find The Shawshank Redemption movie poster.  By the end of the day, Yahoo Image Search had referred to my post Beer in Movies – The Shawshank Redemption, 2,946 times.  The post ended the day with 2,950 views – although WordPress only counted 21 visitors to my site.

My Stats are now totally boinked because this one day is blowing everything out of proportion.   I’ve already well exceeded my target monthly  page views, which would be fine except I know that these views are probably hollow in nature.  Oh well, first world blogging problems.

Anyone else ever have something like this happen?
Anyone else ever have something like this happen?
Author: Ed (The Dogs of Beer)

Beer Blog focused on Delaware & surrounding area. Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff. Over user of commas. Dangler of prepositions.

11 thoughts on “Saturday Explodes at tDoB with Interest about The Shawshank Redemption”

  1. That happened awhile back for us with a Budweiser ad. Very strange but fun to watch!

    And while we’re on the topic of stats, have you noticed a drop off in the stats after January 1st? It’s not like we make money off the blog, but when you notice a steady rise, and then it takes a serious dip, you start to wonder what happened. Just curious.

Leave a Reply

