One Year, at the Dogs of Beer

Image courtesy of ImageChef.com

Last Friday was the one year anniversary for this little blog.  It’s been fun and I have really enjoyed the whole experience, not only writing it, but becoming part of a Blog community and reading what everyone else out there has to say.  I have also enjoyed meeting (either directly or indirectly through this blog) fellow craft beer lovers at festivals and events.

I thought I’d toss  out a little run down of what I did over the past year by looking at my stats.  I don’t do this in a “hey, look at me” attitude, because I know that there are people out there who are killing these figures, but more to say “If I can do this at a certain level, you can, jump in.”

First I’d like to take a moment and thank the people who make this blog tick.  First, Robert and Matt over at Stateline liquors, Ben and company over at Two Stones Pub, and the whole craft beer scene around Delaware at large.  Because of these people, I’m not going to run out of beers to review or events to attend anytime soon.

Second, the GF Tracey.  For gladly getting dragged to beer event after beer event, accepting that “pub crawl” is a legitimate day trip, and acknowledging that where ever we go, the local brewpub is “the lunch stop”.

Third, with some reluctance, my behind the scenes editor for keeping things looking snazzy at The Dogs of Beer.

“I GOTTA BATH ON SUNDAY!!”

Ah…OK.  You did.  But what does that have to do….never mind.

For the record, I’m using the stats off of WordPress.  If you’re a WordPress user, and you still have your WordPress page name (yourblogname.wordpress.com), then WordPress automatically tracks your page states using third part cookies over at Quantcast.com.  The difference is that since they use cookies, if they see that you got 20 page hits in a day, they can tell you if one person loaded 20 pages, or if 2 people each loaded 10, etc.  But since I just normally look at the Stats that are handy at WordPress, those are the ones I’ll be using.  So let’s look at the numbers:

35 – Number of people who follow my blog directly.  Thank you all for your continued readership and support.  To be honest I’m not always aware of this number, so I was shockingly surprised when I looked it up because I thought it was in the mid 20s.

24 – Number of people who follow my blog on Facebook.  Thanks so much.  Special shout out to some Delaware beer folks who follow:  Steve Powell (owner/brewer Argilla Brewing) and Lindsey Timberman (blogger, Delaware Hop Scene).

54 – Number of people who have me in their G+ circles.  I don’t know why I don’t spend more time on G+.  I guess maybe I’ve currently reached my social media limit.  But I’ve always stated that once G+ opens it’s code up to accept auto sharing from other apps, I’m going to use it more.  And if Facebook irritates me to many more times, I’m moving over completely and permently.

203 – Highest views for a page not counting “home”.  My “Beer in Movies” post on The Quiet Man did well when initially posted and has been getting steady hits ever since.  My post on The Shawshank Redemption is second with 122.  Guess it’s time to write another one in that series.

51 – Highest number for a search engine term.  No shock, it’s “the quiet man”, with “Guinness” coming in second.  Odd ones that have come up include “horses jumping off planes”, “darkside chuck norris peace” and “i will kill someone” which actually was used twice.

1 – Number of freelance writers who asked me to answer some question for an up coming article in a local monthly magazine’s beer edition.

1 – Number of freelance writers who ended up not need me, LOL.  It was a thrilling couple of days though.

927 – Page views in my most active month, April 2012.

79 – Number of posts, counting this one.

98 – Highest number of views by a country after the US (2484), Great Britain

61 – Number of different countries who have visited my blog

1 – Number of countries I hadn’t heard of until they visited my blog, Belarus.

It’s like those old computer or board conquest games. The first one whose map is totally red, wins.

62 – Number of page hits on my busiest day, May 2nd 2012.  Cantwell’s Tavern put my review of them on their Facebook page upping my Facebook referrer total to 49 that day.

18 – Number of page views from my biggest referrer, webmail.duclaw.com, once you toss out search engines, facebook, twitter and wordpress,   I get a handful of hits from them every time I review a Duclaw beer.

4266 – Total number of page hits.

38 – Most page views for a beer review.  Tie between Stone’s Arrogant Bastard and DuClaws Peanut Butter Porter.

Again, thanks to everyone.  It’s been a fun year!

Time for another year……

Author: Ed (The Dogs of Beer)

Beer Blog focused on Delaware & surrounding area. Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff. Over user of commas. Dangler of prepositions.

14 thoughts on “One Year, at the Dogs of Beer”

  1. Congrats on a great year! I hope that I can look back on my one year anniversary and accomplish half of what your blog has. It’s a great read, thanks for keeping on.

  2. Don’t tell Ed, but the beer centric trips and events have been a blast…happy 1st anniversary on your blog. Love you, the GF

Leave a Reply

