On This Memorial Day – a Word from My Editor

[Author’s Edit:  My apologies to my “editor” for missing the dead line on this one.]

[Editor’s Edit: Don’t let it happen again stress boy or I’ll have you picking up my poop….oh, wait….]

Hi, my name is Gryffon and I’m the Belgian Malinois that lives with Ed and Tracey. While I really have no true ties to the Dogs of Beer, Ed always jokes that I’m his editor.  Apparently, my duties in this job consist solely of laying next to him on the couch while he’s trying to write a post and knocking the laptop around with my “big ol’ head”.  He obviously doesn’t realize I’m just trying to help steady that flimsy thing.

Anyway when I woke up this morning I was shocked to find them not in their usual Monday morning routine (which usually consists of a lot of moaning and complaining), and found out that today was a day to honor all of the veterans who have served in the Armed Services.  Since Ed didn’t have an idea for a post (he’s lucky I’m not truly his editor – the lazy bum), I asked if he could type some words for me to honor my breed and their contributions to the Armed Forces.

You many not be familiar with Malinois as we’re not the normal “seen walking down the street on the end of a leash” type breed, but you may have seen us none the less.  Next to German Shepherds we are the preferred breed for military and law enforcement use.  If you’ve ever seen a K-9 police unit and thought, “that’s a funny looking shepherd”, then chances are it was a Malinois (and we’re not funny looking, they are).

As a breed, we tend to be loyal, intelligent and protective; everything you’d want in a service dog.  We tend not to be overly aggressive, unless our partner gives us the word and then you don’t want to be the guy I have a hold of.  Ed’s played tug with me for the entire length of a 30 minute TV show without me letting go of the toy.  Imagine that hanging off your arm or leg.

We also make good security dogs.  Ed recently told Tracey that the local K-9 unit came to where he worked to do a demonstration.  The officers hid a cotton ball that had been stored with a bag of pot in a field the size of a regulation baseball diamond.  Ed says my breed mate didn’t take much more than a minute and a half to find it.  So think about that the next time you get the wild idea to bring home souvenirs from Amsterdam.  We’re also trained for explosives detection which is important to both our civil and military duties.

Many of my breed mates are trained over seas in France or Belgium, because of that many of them take their commands in French.  In fact, we are truly international dogs.  We’re currently the preferred dog for the Unit Oketz of the Israel Defense Forces as well as the Royal Australian Air Force.  And one breed mate, Cairo, was used during the assault that lead to the death of Osama bin Laden.  Where ever our troops are, we also follow.

Since I don’t want to tire Ed out typing (really, dude) and I’m beginning to feel the need to go into the kitchen and see what Tracey’s cooking, I think I’ll let some pictures tell the rest of the story of the brave K-9s who serve.

Going where we’re needed…
…ready to do our duty….
…together we stand…
…not realizing that some will return….
…and some will not…
…honoring all (four legged and two) who have sacrificed so much…
…so that most of the time I can do this.

A toast to all who’ve served, whether you know why or not!  We at the Dogs of Beer salute you!

Author: Ed (The Dogs of Beer)

Beer Blog focused on Delaware & surrounding area. Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff. Over user of commas. Dangler of prepositions.

Leave a Reply

