Brew Review – Oskar Blues’ Deviant Dales

Deviant Dale’s Ale

I have a couple of beers in the fridge that have already been covered fairly well  by other bloggers that I follow, but the stars kind of aligned for me my last shopping trip and they all seemed to drop into my cart.   So while I guess my reviews of them will be kind of redundant for those who follow the same blogs I do; and I probably won’t be able to add any more to what they’ve already said about them,  I figured I’d toss my two cents into the pot anyway.  Up first, Oskar Blues’ Deviant Dale’s India pale ale.

Oskar Blues garners quite a bit of attention as the brewery that only distributes their beers in cans.  And as we’ve discussed, beer in the can doesn’t mean “crap beer” anymore.

THEM: Anything I’d type would be just a rewording of the official website run down, so here it is: “Deviant Dale’s IPA (8% ABV, 85 IBUs) was born at the crossroads, in a juke joint, as if Dale’s Pale Ale sold its soul to balance Deviant’s foreboding aromas of citrus, grapefruit rind and piney resins with a copper ball-of-fire color and inscrutable finish. The 2011 GABF Silver Medal Winner (American IPA Category) is the Devil incarnate with untold amounts of malt and hedonistic Columbus dry-hopping. Oskar Blues’ southern spirit caught a northbound blues bus to ColoRADo to deliver the boundary bustin’ brewery’s first 16 oz. tallboy can.

Deviant was formulated as a “double” of their flagship Dale’s Pale Ale.  It has four hop additions during the boil and an “excessive” Columbus dry hop addition.  As a point of interest the gold metal in 2011 was won by La Cumbre Brewing  Company’s (Albuquerque, New Mexico) Elevated IPA, which has also been released in 16oz cans.

ME: Deviant Dale’s pours a deep copper with a layer of fine looking bubbles.  This is another really good looking beer color wise.  The nose is super malty, with just a hint of understated hops.  No, I’m joking, this is a hop monster through and through with deep grapefruit type citrus and resin/wood  notes leaping from the glass.  The flavor however does have a malty touch in the front that quickly gets stampeded by all the hop flavors: grapefruit, tropical fruits, as well as the pine/resin that screams “Columbus”.  Wow.  Simply wow.   It ends with a  lingering bitterness that you almost believe is going to turn into that “back of the throat” burn you get from some spicy food.  I can’t tell if it’s the bitterness of the beer, or my mouth just signaled surrender as I reach the bottom of the glass.

To touch upon what others have said about this beer, the liquid merely exists as a device to transport the a fore mentioned Columbus hops to your palate.  If you love this hop (and I know some of you do) than this is definitely a beer for you.  Personally, I’m more of a malt man myself.  I find these hop behemoths to be to over the top to enjoy any more than one at a time without having to drink a rip of water afterwards.  That being said, they always seem to be a nice go to for me at bars and festivals to wake my palate back up after 3 or 4 other beers.  Think of after shave in the morning – and the cold sting that goes with it.

Time for another beer.

Author: Ed (The Dogs of Beer)

Beer Blog focused on Delaware & surrounding area. Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff. Over user of commas. Dangler of prepositions.

6 thoughts on “Brew Review – Oskar Blues’ Deviant Dales”

      1. Yeah I’m still throwing mine up tomorrow because it’s written and I both teach and bartend tonight. So there is no time to write another one. I like your review though. Your blog, and a couple others, keep intersecting on the beer review situation. It’s okay though, like you said, great minds think alike!

  1. Thankfully, I’m still the only one who has talked about this beer AND flatulence. Although, we’ll see if that holds true tomorrow morning when L,L&L posts. Nice review, Dogs.

Leave a Reply

