Tag! You’re It!

So the other day I noticed some traffic coming to my site from Beerbecue’s blog.  Not having checked my blog reader yet I was curious as to why so I jumped onto his most recent post and found out the cause – he’d tagged me.  I’ve been following Beerbecue for quite awhile now and really enjoy his mix of topics on beer and BBQ.  After reading his post I discovered that I’d been sucked into some kind of chain-blog-post, of which I was encouraged to participate.  And I’m not going to lie (I’m lying) I was immediately swept up in the idea.

Now at this point I’d like to echo some of what Beerbecue said in the post in which he tagged me.  Normally, I wouldn’t participate in such a thing.  I’m not the kind of guy who posts a status on my facebook page and tags 20 of my friends because someone said that, if I do, the girl of my dreams will appear that night and kiss me.  Yeah like that’s going to work.  Considering the hundreds and hundreds of letters I’ve sent to Valerie Bertinelli over the years have resulted in two marriages and neither of them to me (although the restraining order does look nice hanging on my bar room wall) you’ll forgive me if I don’t hold my breath.  I also never forward goofy emails around work (except for this one which I thought was freakin’ hysterical), nor normally waste people’s time with what I consider frivolous stuff.

On the flip side it’s nice that a regular reader thought enough of my blog  to include me on his list.  And as he wrote, anything that drives more traffic to our sites is a good thing.  So with that in mind I have decided to play along this time.  The rules to this game are simple and are as follows:

  • Post the rules (easy enough so far)
  • Answer the questions (We seem to have no real consistency here, but since we’re mostly beer bloggers and we tend to do our own thing anyway, this doesn’t surprise me)
  • Create 11 new questions (See comment above.  I doubt I have 11 good ones in me)
  • Tag 11 people with a link to your post (if I had 11 people following me that I felt comfortable doing that to, I wouldn’t need to be doing this)
  • Let them know you’ve tagged them (I’m going with Beerbecue here and allow them plausible deniability)

Before I get to the questions let me say that while I think this has a certain amount of fun to it, the real enjoyment from this chainy-lettery-thingy (well, according to Beerbecue anyway and who am I to argue) is apparently including a disparaging picture in retaliation to the person who tagged you and sucked you into this endeavor.  So with that in mind, here ya go buddy:

Must....save.....brisket......

Beerbecue’s Questions that I have answered:

Your first beer:  Probably Piels or Schaefer or Meister Brau or some such dreck.  My dad’s beer refrigerator was the poster child for 70’s crap beer.

Your first good beer:  Ballantine IPA.  Although probably not nearly as good as it was in the 50s, it was still good when I first had it.  Even had a little puzzle in the bottle cap.

Your favorite BBQ joint?  I don’t really have one.  But when I’m at events, if I see a Two Fat Guys banner anywhere, I’m there!

Which childhood star most influenced you?  I believe I answered that above.  But I credit Billy Mummy for my years of attempting to wish co-workers and stupid people into the cornfield.

Would you rather listen to Exile on Main St. or Sgt. Pepper’s?  Sgt Pepper’s.  Jagger wasn’t happy with the direction of Exile when it was being recorded, and didn’t like it after it was released.  Who am I to argue with the artist about his material?

Which is better: kimjongillookingatthings.com or kimjongunlookingatthings.com? The boy’s too young still to understand basic dictator subtleties as well as his father did.  Subtleties such as how to crush a rebellion, how to intimidate another country with the threat of nuclear attack and how to look at things.

To the extent divulging it would not reveal top-secret, upcoming reviews…what beers are in your fridge right now? Four Calling Birds, Saison du BUFF (DFH), Shipyard’s XXXX IPA, DuClaw’s Anti-venom, and I think there might be one Blithering Idiot left.

My questions for the people I tag (or just answer Beerbecue’s, they’ll probably be better anyway):

You win a contest.  A truck will drive to your house once a week and drop off a case of beer.  In a perfect world, what would the beer be?

The one place you wish they would allow you to drink beer is?

What’s the one VHS tape you own(ed) (or cassette tape) that you wish you had on DVD (or CD) now?

Do you prefer to be the one who cooks, or the one who cleans up?

David Lee Roth or Sammy Hagar?

Go to the movies or catch it on DVD?

What’s the one thing you really like that you’d really love to post about in your blog, but you don’t because it doesn’t really fit the overall theme?

To my tagees, participate at what ever level you want; however you want.  I will not be keeping score to see who does, nor will I hold ill will toward those who do not.  Please bear in mind that I’ve tagged you because I enjoy your blogs and think others would too.  If you do nothing else, I implore you to follow the tag lineage back to Beerbecue and then to the blog that tagged him, and so on.  Look at the blogs they’ve tagged.  I did, and found 2 or 3 blogs that I’m now following.  In all honesty this was truly a great way to discover some really good writers out there.  Go see for yourself!  Also, I’m including two blogs whose writers have become SLACK over the past couple of months.  Consider this a kick in the ass boys…. oh, don’t look around!  You KNOW who you are!

Fill It or Spill It

Beer Is My Church

Stouts and Stilettos

Beerproof

Gourmet Metal

Beer Delaware

Meganvsbeer

[EDIT: I don’t know how I forgot these guys.  I just started following them
and they’re writing an excellent blog]

The Beer Revue

Author: Ed (The Dogs of Beer)

Beer Blog focused on Delaware & surrounding area. Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff. Over user of commas. Dangler of prepositions.

1 thought on “Tag! You’re It!”

Leave a Reply

